Saturday, June 15, 19 h 30

Salle Bourgie

Isn’t Britain Great !

First prize winners and great British composers make up this exciting program featuring the Barbican Quartet, pianist Illia Ovcharenko and an ensemble of nine musicians.


Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Introduction et Allegro pour cordes opus. 47

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
Quatuor à cordes en ré majeur no 1 opus 25
Andante sostenuto – Allegro vivo
Allegro con slancio
Andante calmo
Molto vivace

Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Quintet pour piano et cordes en la mineur opus 84
Moderato – Allegro
Andante – Allegro

20 $


50 $


60 $



Amarins Wierdsma, Kate Maloney, violins
Christoph Slenczka, viola
Yoanna Prodanova, cello

Illia Ovcharenko, piano
Nathan Meltzer, Shannon Lee*, Gregory Lewis*, Emma Meinrenken*, violins
Lambert Chen, Annie Parent, violas
Cameron Crozman*, Leland Ko*, cellos
Eric Chappell, bass

*Winners of The Canada Council for the Arts Musical Instrument Bank Competition.

Celebrate the grandeur of British music in this program featuring two majestic works by Elgar as well as Britten’s String Quartet No. 1. The London-based Barbican Quartet, first prize winners of numerous international competitions, perform together with Honens Competition Gold Medal winner pianist Illia Ovcharenko and winners of the Canada Council for the Arts Musical Instrument Bank Competition. This intimate musical collaboration is unique and can only be heard at the Festival.

Salle Bourgie, MBAM
Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
1339 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3G 1G2